Day 26 of The Single Woman Blog Challenge: Name a song that makes you cry every time you hear it and why.

This is the song that does it for me and because of that, I haven’t listened to it on purpose in years. If you’ve read my blog before, you know that I was in an on-again-mostly-off relationship with someone for the better part of 11 years and we talked about marriage more than once. But about 5 years in, I was getting tired and needed to know what the deal was with us and so, as he was known for doing, instead of telling me in his own words, he used this song to express how he felt…or so I thought.

The first time I listened to it, I couldn’t stop weeping but needless to say, the song outlasted that relationship and while it took a long time for me to get over that, and to forgive myself for having stayed around so long, to this day, hearing this song is not easy. In fact, the demise of this relationship led me to stop listening to love songs altogether…unless it was Chaka Khan, Stevie Wonder, or Fire and Desire. But recently, someone has helped me find the courage to at least consider the fact that all love songs aren’t complete lies and for that, I am thankful.

What song makes you emotional? Comment here, or on Facebook or Tweet me @julia_locklear.

Leave a Reply

