Day 27 of The Single Woman Blog Challenge: Talk about something that you really, really, really love about yourself.

I’m versatile. I can roll in pretty much any situation and fit in and be real about it. Pick up game of 3-on-3? I got Nikes for that. $500-a-plate fundraiser? I have the gown for that. Bowling night? I have the balls and shoes for that. Traipsing through El Yunque to the fabled fountain of youth in San Juan? I have the bikini for that. Grammy Awards after-party? I definitely have the dress for that. Last-minute trip to Rome because it’s $300? I have the passport for that. Bar room brawl because you thought it was OK to roll up on my girl and kick up dust when she was by herself? I have the wifebeater and the barstool for that.

I credit my parents for my varied tastes and sense of adventure. They let me try some of everything from piano, to karate, roller skating, gymnastics, basketball, study abroad, white water rafting, DJing…the list goes on. My enjoyment of the not-so-traditional has also led me to meet some interesting people and experience this world in a way that has really defined who I am.

I want to live life and breathe in all that this world has to offer. When I travel, I go to where the weewuls hang out and immerse myself in the culture in an attempt to get some idea of what it is like to live a different life. And with me, you never know, I might decide to up and move to that city or country someday so I need to really know the flavor and the vibe to be able to make that decision.

With that versatility comes a fearlessness that I think has served me well. Not everyone has the stomach for living this way but for me, I don’t know how else to do it. Life is about adventure, taking chances, trying new things at least once and being unafraid to be out of your comfort zone. That’s not to say that I am reckless but I am liable to do something unconventional just to say I did it and if I like it, I’ll do it again.

As much as I lament the solitude, I must admit that the single life has afforded me the opportunity to learn to appreciate this about myself and to continue to partake in crazy hobbies and experiences that make me more uniquely me. And now, I’m at a point in my life where I can confidently say I love that I’m so different and I’m done trying to be what I’ve been told I should be. I do me and I like me.

That said, I know that I will need an equally adventurous partner because I don’t intend to stop the exploration. I still have to get to Egypt, walk along The Great Wall, go to Carnival, get my third tattoo…that list goes on too and if he’s not with it, then he can’t be with me because I would love to have someone to share these experiences with. But if I don’t, you know me, I’ll still go because that’s what I do; I go hard. I go all in. I go big or I don’t go and I ain’t neva scurred.

What do you love about yourself? Comment here, or on Facebook, or hit me up on Twitter @julia_locklear.

2 thoughts on “Day 27 of The Single Woman Blog Challenge: Talk about something that you really, really, really love about yourself.

  1. Holla at ya girl when you run across that $300 Rome trip though! I’ve been wanting to go back. Haha! What do I love about myself? Similar to you, I love experiencing new things. A trip, a class, an all-day museum Sunday are all things I would prefer over a traditional gift in a box. I love the fact that I am open to new things. I moved to NYC nine years ago with no family (or so I thought at the time) and no close friends here. I’ve since made a life for myself and I haven’t lost that boldness to go forth and capture life. Even after a divorce and settling into single life again, I still appreciate that about myself.

    • Thanks for sharing girl! That $300 deal was in 2000 and I fear we will never see it again but I’ll be sure to let you know the next time I get ready to roll out!

Leave a Reply

