Day 30 of The Single Woman Blog Challenge: Write a letter to your future mate saying whatever you want to say.

Dear Idris SIR:

There was a time when I thought this day might not ever come; especially after I thought it had come before only to find out I was wrong. I have to admit; the idea of you sounded great and I was very loud and particular about who you should be and how you should behave. Imagine my surprise when you showed up in real life; a living, breathing incarnation of what had in the past, been nothing more than a lucid dream…an elusive dream.

I’m so glad you’re here. I have been storing up my love in anticipation of your arrival so if that is too much for you, well, then you wouldn’t be here. In return, love me as the strangely beautiful, bizarre creature that I am knowing that you have my boundless admiration and enduring loyalty. Discover new things with me that will be our little secrets, the stories only we know that become our lore. Come breathe with me as we conquer the world.

Most of all, be my protector, not from things mundane but calamity unseen. Fight for me when I don’t even know I need it and guard my solitude as I do yours for it is in those quiet moments alone that we each retain our perspective and can come back to ourselves ready to love with new depth. Smile when you see me, when you think of me, and promise to disagree with me if that’s how you feel. Recognize that my passion manifests itself as anger from time-to-time and know that if I’m fighting you on something, I’m fighting for us, always.

You amaze me in your pursuit of greatness for you are that already but your desire to continue to grow guarantees my faith and support. Your belief in me is astounding in its momentum and remarkable in its truth. Be my treasure. Be my something wonderful. Be. You.

Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

